California's Senate District 36 consists of the southern coastal region of Orange County from Laguna Niguel to the established coastal beach communities along San Diego County’s Interstate 5, including Camp Pendleton and San Onofre Nuclear Plant.

Cities in this district include Rancho Santa Margarita, Mission Viejo, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Aliso Viejo, Dana Point, San Juan Capistrano, San Clemente, Oceanside, Vista, Carlsbad, and Encinitas.

The district is characterized by its state-managed coastal beaches, intense beach recreation, and sensitive environmental coastal estuaries. (Source: California Citizens Redistricting Commission Final Report - Page 50)

Senate District 36 (High Resolution PDF)

Senate District 36

Map of the 36th Senate District